TDLR’s Definition of Massage Therapy
- The state agency that regulates massage is TDLR (Texas Department of Licensing and Regulation)
- Massage therapy means the manipulation of soft tissue by hand or through a mechanical or electrical apparatus for the purpose of body massage. The term includes effleurage (stroking), petrissage (kneading), tapotement (percussion), compression, vibration, friction, nerve strokes, and Swedish gymnastics. Massage therapy may include the use of oil, lubricant, salt glows, heat lamps, hot and cold packs, or tub, shower, jacuzzi, sauna, steam or cabinet baths. Massage therapy is a health care service when the massage is for therapeutic purposes, and a licensed massage therapist may receive referrals from a physician to administer massage therapy.
STEPS TO BECOME LICENSED
- STEP 1 – Complete a 500 Hour Massage Therapy training program at a state-licensed massage school. (If you go to an out-of-state school, TDLR will need to review you individually).
- STEP 2 - Taking and passing the ‘Massage and Bodywork Licensing Exam’ also known as the ‘MBLEx’.
- STEP 3 - Taking and passing a ‘Jurisprudence Exam’ on Texas massage laws and rules.
- STEP 4 – Complete application for Massage Therapy License with TDLR.
STEP #1 - State Required Curriculum
Swedish massage – 125 hours
Additional massage techniques and theory – 75 hours
Anatomy – 50 hours
Physiology – 25 hours
Kinesiology – 50 hours
Pathology – 40 hours
Hydrotherapy – 20 hours
Business Practice, Laws, Rules, Ethics – 45 hours
Health and Hygiene – 20 hours
Student internship program – 50 hours
Total hours required: 500 hours
STEP #2 - Taking the MBLEX
Texas requires potential therapists to pass the Massage and Bodywork
Licensing Examination ‘MBLEx’ test. This is a 100 question test given on a
computer and timed at 2 hours. It is administered through an on-line testing
center approved by the FSMTB (Federation of State Massage Therapy
- To learn more about the MBLEX, visit: fsmtb.org/mblex/
When choosing which Massage Therapy School to attend, be sure to ask to
see their latest MBLEX scores and how they compare with the State and
STEP #3 – Taking the Jurisprudence Exam
This an exam you take on-line on Texas’ state massage therapy law and rules.
The Texas Massage Therapist Jurisprudence Examination content is based on the state rules and laws relating to the practice of massage therapy. All applicants for initial licensure must submit proof of completing the jurisprudence examination at the time they submit a completed application
- To learn more about the Jurisprudence exam, visit: www.license.state.tx.us/mas/masexam.htm
Applicable fees are paid directly to the third-party vendor for the jurisprudence examination.
STEP #4 - Applying for your License
You apply for your License through the Texas Department of Licensing and Registration (TDLR). From time you apply until your get your license varies, but can range from 1 to 4 weeks.
To apply go to: WWW.TDLR.TEXAS.GOV
- Items Needed for Application
- Proof of Jurisprudence Exam
- Proof of MBLEX Successful Completion
- Transcripts from your 500 Hour Program
- Social Security Number
- Cost: $100
Click Online Services and scroll down to Massage Therapy. From there you will register for a new user account and begin the process of applying for your license. This process does include a background check (f you are worried about a past conviction, check with TDLR before applying).
Requirements - On-line Courses - Out of State Licensure
Texas requires completion of 500 hours of qualifying education to apply for the MBLEX. Any school requiring more then 500 hours needs to show reason to the student and the state why the additional hours are being required.
Texas does not accept credit for on-line massage courses to become licensed.
License requirements vary from state to state; although 44 states accept the MBLEX exam, they may have different academic requirements. If you’re planning on moving after completing a Texas 500-hour program, check with that states licensing department to see if they have additional
The Lauterstein-Conway Massage School
The Lauterstein-Conway Massage School in Austin (TLC) has a 500-hour program (the one required for licensure), a 250-hour Advanced Program, and over 400 hours of continuing education workshops each year.
The required Massage Therapy curriculum for Texas licensing is set. The quality of the school and the student’s education is determined by how they present the curriculum, the experience of the teachers, and the students the massage school attracts.
TLC has continued to refine their curriculum for almost 30 years as Austin's premier massage school to offer the most comprehensive massage training to prepare students to confidently pass the MBLEX.
Contact our Admission's Department if you are interested in learning more about the Massage Therapy training program for Massage Therapy Licensing in Texas.
512.374.9222 ex 14 | firstname.lastname@example.org
The state agency that regulates massage is TDLR (Texas Department of Licensing and Regulation)
Texas Department of Licensing and Regulation
PO Box 12057
Austin, TX 78711
(800) 803-9202 [in state only]
Fax: (512) 463-9468
Relay Texas-TDD: (800) 735-2989